Sketches in class

Self potrait 055Top Left Fig.: Blind drawing – Oh my gosh this was all so much fun.  It was challenging  I left the green tape so you could see how I felt my way around my face while drawing. It was a pretty interesting exercise. The lines I made felt too dark and harsh looking a little too masculine for what I wanted. It makes me laugh how I have four eyes.

Top Right Fig.: Self portrait – I started this drawing with pencil first, but then decided to experiment with using colours that wouldn’t normally be. I emphasised colour in this portrait, but when I chose it I was pretty pissed off so to me I can see a lot of my emotions in this self-portrait. I’m not fully convinced with this drawing, especially with the hand  through the hair it just doesn’t feel right, like I haven’t focused on pressure points on the arm.

Bottom Fig.: Life drawing – Half hour sketch and the last drawing we did as a class. I was more distinctive with my lines, and I tried not to sketch too scratchy with the charcoal and focussed more on long, full, dark lines. I swapped views, this was the only drawing from this angle. It was pretty challenging, missing the view of her feet. I was a bit gutted at first missing the full body but when I took a step back I though it was the most flattering, modest angle. Her tummy was a little smaller than I drew it. But overall, I’m stoked with my results with working on perspective and the bodies proportions.

Leave a comment